TU Berlin

Simulation of Multi Destination Pedestrian CrowdsExperiments

Page Content

to Navigation

Evaluation - Experiments

In order to obtain reliable empirical data of multi-directional, intersecting pedestrian flows for the evaluation of different simulation models, in 2010 we conducted human crowd experiments at the Technische Universit├Ąt Berlin. One particular experimental setup in December, for example, arranged for two pedestrian flows (142 and 83 subjects) to intersect at an angle of 90 degrees for one minute in a region of about 25 square meters, resulting in peak densities of about four pedestrians per square meter.

Image material of the Berlin Long Night of Science June 2010



Tracking

Lucas-Kanade algorithm
Lupe

The pedestrians' spatio-temporal positions were obtained via photogrammetric means from video data recorded with multiple temporally synchronized network surveillance video cameras. Tracking of the pedestrians was facilitated with the standard Lucas-Kanade algorithm.

In our case, a particular challenge was presented by the fact that due to constructional limitations the scene could not be captured from a bird's eye view. Thus the effect of the pedestrians' different heights could not be assumed as negligible - and since the pedestrians' heights were not known beforehand, we needed to devise a method for extracting the pedestrians' positions reliably without this information.

Merging of trajectories

Smooth trajectories were then obtained via approximation with cubic B-splines, and the combinatorial assignment of trajectories obtained from different camera perspectives was supported with the Kuhn-Munkres algorithm.

Merged trajectories reprojected to camera image



Crowd Densities

After evaluating video data and obtaining suitable trajectories, we computed density fields. To our understanding for validation of different models the spatial density setting as a representation of pedestrian dynamics is very appropriate: Macroscopic simulations already provide density fields and those can be easily extracted as well from data which can be obtained from experiments and microscopic simulations.

Yet local density fields have been determined by a nearest neighbor density estimator. Compared to those density estimators with fixed bandwidth, which are widely used in literature, calculates our new approach a density field which provides spatial averaged values over mesoscopic areas, what is more likely for counting pedestrians contained in a region of interest. Thus we obtain an estimator which (a) yields density fields that are also differentiable functions in time and (b) models the influence of multiple neighboring pedestrians on the space of an individual.

Pedestrian density field with variable bandwith kernel



Voronoi densities

Another approach for density estimators bases on Voronoi diagrams. The basic idea is to consider the personal space claimed by a pedestrian. This space corresponds to the Voronoi cell of a person respectively. The results of Voronoi densities are very similar to those of standard densities, however they have less scatter in comparison. Nevertheless also Voronoi based estimators do not provide locally smooth results.

[Steffen B. & Seyfried A., 2009: Methods for Measuring Pedestrian Density, Flow, Speed and Direction with Minimal Scatter. - Pysika A 389 (9): 1902-1910]

Advanced Voronoi estimator

Naively calculated Voronoi diagrams possess several features which are inconsistent with the concept of a personal space, in particular the cells on the border of the diagram. Pedestrians who make up the convex hull have infnite cells, other cells maybe large but finite and many cells cross the boundary of the room. Therefore we extend the concept of Voronoi densities by limiting the cells to maximum radius and cut with the room geometry.

[Liddle J., Seyfried A., Steffen B., Klingsch W., Rupprecht T., Winkens A. & Boltes M. 2011: Microscopic insights into pedestrian motion through a bottleneck, resolving spatial and temporal variations. - arXiv:1105.1532v1]

Comparison of standard- and Voronoi densities



Navigation

Quick Access

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe

TU Berlin

Simulation of Multi Destination Pedestrian CrowdsEvaluierung - Experimente

Inhalt des Dokuments

zur Navigation

Evaluierung - Experimente

Um eine zuverlässige empirische Datenbasis von multidirektionalen, sich kreuzenden Fußgängerströmen für die Bewertung der verschiedenen Simulationsmodelle zu erhalten, führten wir an der Technischen Universität Berlin im Jahr 2010 Experimente mit Menschenmengen durch. In einer Versuchsanordnung vom Dezember beispielsweise kreuzten sich zwei Fußgängerströme (142 und 83 Probanden) in einem Winkel von 90 Grad für eine Minute in einem Bereich von etwa 25 Quadratmetern. Diese Anordnung lieferte die Dichte von maximal vier Fußgängern pro Quadratmeter.

Videomaterial aus der Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften im Juni 2010



Tracking

Lucas-Kanade Algorithmus
Lupe

Die räumlich-zeitlichen Positionen der Fußgänger wurden mit photogrammetrischen Methoden aus Videodaten, welche von mehreren zeitlich synchronisierten Überwachungskameras aufgezeichnet wurden, erhalten. Das Tracking der Fußgänger wurde über den Standard-Lucas-Kanade Algorithmus erreicht.

In unserem Fall stellten bauliche Einschränkungen eine besondere Herausforderung da, da dadurch die Szene nicht aus einer Vogelperspektive erfasst werden konnte. So mussten die verschiedenen Größen der Fußgänger beachtet werden - und da die Größe der Fußgänger im voraus nicht bekannt war, mussten wir eine Methode entwickeln, welche die Position der Fußgänger trotzdem zuverlässig berechnet.

Zusammenführung der Trajektorien

Über eine Approximation mit kubischen B-Splines erhielten wir glatte Trajektorien und die kombinatorische Zuordnung zwischen den Trajektorien, die aus den verschiedenen Perspektiven der Kameras resultiert, wurde unter anderen durch den Kuhn-Munkres Algorithmus ermittelt.

Zusammengeführte Trajektorien auf Kamerabilder rückprojiziert



Dichtefelder

Nachdem die Videodaten ausgewertet wurden und wir geeignete Trajektorien erhalten haben, berechneten wir Dichtefelder. Unserer Meinung nach ist die räumlich-zeitliche Dichtekonfiguration als Repräsentation der Fußgängerdynamik für die Kalibrierung und Validierung von einer Vielzahl von Modellen besonders geeignet: makroskopische Simulationen liefern bereits Dichtefelder und die Daten, welche von Experimenten oder mikroskopischen Simulation erhalten werden, können leicht dahingehend konvertiert werden.

Bisher wurden lokale Dichtefelder mittels eines Nearest-Neighbour-Dichteschätzers bestimmt. Im Vergleich zu solchen Dichteschätzern mit fester Bandbreite, welche überwiegend in der Literatur verwendet werden, berechnet unser neuer Ansatz ein Dichtefeld, das räumlich gemittelte Werte über mesoskopische Gebiete liefert, was eher der Standartmethode entspricht, Fußgänger zu zählen, welche sich in dieser Region befinden. Der so erhaltende Schätzer liefert Dichtefelder welche (a) mit der Zeit differenzierbar sind und (b) den Einfluss mehrerer benachbarter Personen auf den von einem Individuum eingenommenen Raum modellieren.

Dichtefeld mit variabler Bandbreite



Voronoi-Dichten

Ein weiterer Ansatz für Dichteschätzer basiert auf Voronoi-Diagrammen. Die Kernidee ist es, den persönlichen Raum, den eine Person beansprucht, zu betrachten. Dieser Raum entspricht der jeweilen Voronoi-Zelle einer Person. Die Werte von Voronoi-Dichten sind denen von Standarddichten sehr ähnlich, besitzen jedoch im Vergleich dazu eine geringere Streuung. Allerdings liefern auch Voronoi-Schätzer lokal keine glatten Werte.

[Steffen B. & Seyfried A., 2009: Methods for Measuring Pedestrian Density, Flow, Speed and Direction with Minimal Scatter. - Pysika A 389 (9): 1902-1910]

Weiterentwickelter Voronoi-Schätzer

Nativ berechnete Voronoi-Diagramme besitzen Eigenschaften, die mit dem Konzept des persönlichen Raums unvereinbar sind. Dies trifft besonders auf Zellen zu, die sich am Rand des Diagramms befinden. Personen, die die konvexe Hülle bilden, besitzen unbeschränkte Zellen, andere Zellen können sehr groß aber beschränkt sein und einige Zellen überlappen sich mit der Geometrie des Raumes (z.B. Hindernisse). Deswegen wird das Konzept der Voronoi-Dichten dahingehend erweitert, dass Zellen erstens durch einen maximalen Radius beschränkt und außerdem mit der Raumgeometrie geschnitten werden.

[Liddle J., Seyfried A., Steffen B., Klingsch W., Rupprecht T., Winkens A. & Boltes M. 2011: Microscopic insights into pedestrian motion through a bottleneck, resolving spatial and temporal variations. - arXiv:1105.1532v1]

Vergleich zwischen Standard- und Voronoi-Dichte



Navigation

Direktzugang

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe